Skip to main content

Nathan Foundation Performance Award Winners

In 1987 The Nathan Foundation with the support of its former chairman Cambridge racer, Hall of Fame and Honor Squadron member the late Ed Nabb created the Index of Performance Award.  Inspired by the 24 hour race in France the award with his perpetual trophy and $500 cash prize has become one of the more sought after challenges.

The award provides equal opportunity for all classes as it recognizes the boat which comes the closest to breaking a world speed record or the boat which breaks a world speed record by the largest margin.   An accomplishment achieved by two racers.  Through the 21 year history of the award 13 different drivers competing in seven different classes have won the award.

In 2007 Dan Kanfoush drove Jim Sechler’s Fast Eddie Too Y1 to a win in the North American Championship, the National Highpoint Championship and the best performance time in last year’s Classic to win the Nathan Foundation Index of Performance Award.

YearNameBoat Name NotesRecord
1987Jim RuarkSweet Eileen
*1988 Jim RuarkSweet EileenAPBA 1-1/4 mile course record established*****
1989Races Cancelleddue to weather
1990RacesCancelleddue to weather
1991Warren IgnacioSouthern 7
1992Dave GreelawVeri Cheri
1993Ken Germershausen & Eric AlessandroniBeverly Ann
1994Thompson & ThompsonThe Gambler
1995Patrick HayworthExport A
1996Thompson & ThompsonThe Gambler
1997Patrick HayworthI Tech
1998Joe LongoLil Lectron
*1999 Ken McMullenHostile Takeover
2000George Kennedy JrOutlaw
2001Larry LauterbachMurjr's Lauterbach Special
2002Tom ThompsonMiss Zandy II
2003Joe CheezumFor Sale
2004George Kennedy JrOutlaw
2005Jimmy Shane Kelly Shane Beverly Ann
2006Jimmy ShaneIt's a Floater
2007Dan KanFast Eddie Too
2008Dave GreenlawVeri Cheri
2009Tom ThompsonFat Chance Too
2010Bert HendersonLast MinuteCE-8